Gunship Got Dave Lombardo on Their Latest Single “Monster in Paradise,” New Album Coming This September


Synthwave act Gunship are back with some new tunes and this time around, they’ve recruited some big players in the rock, metal, and EDM scenes to add to their trademark sound. With their new album Unicorn coming out on September 29, they opened up the floodgates with its first single “Monster In Paradise,” which features none other than legendary drummer Dave Lombardo.

The track, which you can check out in the massively cyberpunk music video below, doesn’t sound like the ex-Slayer drummer’s typical work. But along with vocals by Wargasm‘s Milkie Way, saxophone mastery by Tim Cappello, and film composer and guitarist Tyler Bates in the mix, it’s a dark and sultry jam that’s sure to get your ass moving.

Looking back on their time collaborating on the track, Way said its deep lineup of contributors was “a match made in heaven.”

“Gunship, Timmy Cappello, and Dave Lombardo is truly a match made in heaven and I’m so happy to be included in this beautiful maelstrom of synth-metal perfection”

According to the band, the music video below pays homage to some major sci-fi and cyberpunk influences, including The Terminator and Blade Runner, with Way acting as a sort of Sarah Connor-style character, complete with dramatic voice over work.

Honestly, you can just listen to the track with your eyes closed and get a good feel for what the video was shooting for. Unicorn will be the band’s follow up to their 2018 release Dark All Day. The album will be available on September 29, but you can preorder your copy today.

Gunship, Unicorn Tracklisting: 

“Monster In Paradise” (Feat. Milkie Way, Dave Lombardo, Tim Cappello, Tyler Bates)
“Taste Like Venom” 
“Empress of the Damned” (Feat. Lights) 
“Tech Noir 2” (Feat. John Carpenter, Charlie Simpson) 
“DooM Dance” (Feat. Gavin Rossdale, Carpenter Brut) 
“Blood for the Blood God” (Feat. Health) 
“Weaponised Love” 
“Ghost” (Feat. Power Glove) 
“Darkness for Dreams” 
“Holographic Heart” (Feat. Britta Philips) 
“Nuclear Date Night” 
“Run Like Hell” 
“Lost Shadow” 
“Postcard From the American Dream”

Gunship Got Dave Lombardo on Their Latest Single “Monster in Paradise,” New Album Coming This September
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits