New Stuff



zero systemWe’re big fans of North Carolina metallers Bloodjinn around here. That band had all sorts of wicked chops and should be mentioned in the same breath as Converge, Cave In and Hatebreed in conversations surrounding the origins of metalcore. Bloodjinn did their thing for a long time but never got quite the credit they deserved, and as such they haven’t put out any new music since 2007’s excellent This Machine Runs on Empty. A new album was expected in April of this year but never seemed to materialize.

Enter Zero System, the new(-ish) band led by Bloodjinn guitarist Kyle Odell along with fellow North Carolinians Justin Reich and Adam Cody of Glass Casket. Zero System have been incredibly productive over the last several months, opting for a series of EPs and small-time releases rather than a full-length album. The basic blueprint for Zero System’s music is similar to that of Bloodjinn, but with a slightly more melodic and dynamic feel. Zero System released a self-titled EP this August and already have a new one called Meridian on the slate for January 2010. Four songs from the 6-song Meridian are currently streaming on the band’s MySpace, and they all sound fucking great; the knack for great songs that drove Bloodjinn’s music is still intact and the production and playing are tip-top.

Check out the four new Zero System songs on the band’s MySpace page and let us know what you think.


Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits