Upcoming Bullsh*t



Cynic EP Carbon-Based Anatomy

Talk about great timing — Cynic, who are scheduled to headline our inaugural 2-day festival The Metal Suckfest — will be releasing a new EP just one week later! According to a post on their label Season of Mist’s official website:

Forefathers of Progressive Metal CYNIC have recorded a new EP entitled “Carbon-Based Anatomy”, to be released on November 11th in Europe (November 15th in North America). Contrary to last year’s “Re-Traced”, this new EP exclusively consists of brand new material.

Here are the tracklisting and cover artwork of “Carbon-Based Anatomy”:

  1. Amidst The Coals
  2. Carbon-Based Anatomy
  3. Bija!
  4. Box Up My Bones
  5. Elves Beam Out
  6. Hieroglyph

The artwork was designed by the great Robert Venosa, the artist behind the cover artworks of “Focus”, “Traced in Air” and “Re-Traced”. We regret to announce that Robert passed away last month. RIP.

Paul Masvidal describes this new EP as “both a philosophical as well as a musical journey, one that begins in the Amazon jungle on the lips of a shamanic wisewoman (as portrayed by Amy Correia) and ends in outerspace”.

Last but not least, the fans will be excited to know that all bass parts on “Carbon-Based Anatomy” were recorded by Mr. Sean Malone.

This is obviously very exciting; Traced in Air was a stunning return to form for a band that had been dormant for quite some time, and we’re beyond stoked to hear what the lads in Cynic have been up to since. Fingers crossed, we’ll get to hear some of the new material live when Cynic closes out the final day of the Metal Suckfest on November 5th.

As for more on the Suckfest… stay tuned for a big announcement later today!


Thanks: Shawn Daniel

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits