Barbarous Book Club

Cannibal Corpse and Joel McIver Pen The Bible of Butchery

  • Axl Rosenberg

Cannibal Corpse - The Bible of ButcheryThis September, Cannibal Corpse will provide you not just with some new listening material — they’re also gonna hook you up with some new reading material, too. The band has announced that their official biography, The Bible of Butchery, will be released on September 16 — the same day as their new albumA Skeletal Domain. The tome was penned by Joel McIver, who has previously written books about bands such as Sabbath, Slayer, and Slipknot (rumor is he even pitched the band on changing their name from Cannibal Corpse to Sannibal Sorpse, just so he could maintain his streak), and will also feature a foreward by Gene Hoglan. 

So that sounds pretty cool, although I do wonder if the book will provide any new info that wasn’t already in Denise Korycki’s ridiculously in-depth documentary, Centuries of Torment. It seems worth noting that Part One of Butchery is entitled “Meet the Accused,” but only features subheadings for each Corpse’s current members. Presumably, key former personnel, such as Chris Barnes and Jack Owen, will still receive mention in the section of the book entitled “A Brief History of Murder, Mayhem and Misanthropy,” but they may not be featured quite as extensively as they were in Torment.

Pre-order The Bible of Butchery here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits