Decapitated Members Released from Jail; Trial to Commence in January

  • Axl Rosenberg

All four members of Decapitated — Wacław “Vogg” Kiełtyka (guitars), Rafał “Rasta” Piotrowski (vocals), Michał Łysejko (drums), and Hubert Więcek (bass) — have been released from jail while they await trail for allegedly kidnapping and raping a woman in Spokane, WA earlier this year.

Perhaps even more surprising: they’ve been out since November 22 and for some reason we’re all just learning about it now.

Although bail for each member of the Polish death metal band had previously been set at $100,000, they were released on their own recognizance without first posting bond, The Spokesman reports:

“As part of their release conditions, Judge Julie McKay ordered them to stay in Washington, but they can leave Spokane County until ordered to return. They were ordered to turn in their passport, and in the case they do return to Poland, were ordered to sign waivers of extradition, meaning Poland would be required to extradite them to Spokane.”

According to Steve Graham, the band’s defense attorney, Vogg is staying with family in the Seattle area, while the other three members of the band “have found temporary housing in the Spokane area, including staying with attorneys or other families.” They remain forbidden from speaking with one another without their attorney present.

A member from a letter of Poland’s Parliament, Dominik Tarczynski, helped reassure the court that the quartet doesn’t represent a flight risk.

Additionally, Thy Art is Murder guitarist Andy Marsh testified on Decapitated’s behalf. Having played with Decap that fateful night in Spokane, Marsh asserted that he saw the accuser in the mosh pit during the show, “smashing her hands, arms and body against the metal barricade between the audience and the stage.” Presumably, this would help to explain the bruises the woman claims to be evidence that she was physically assaulted by the band.

Decapitated’s trial has been set for January 16.

We will, of course, continue to follow this story closely as it develops further.

Thanks: Corey C.M.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits