Enlarge Photo Credit: Miikka Skaffari for MetalSucks

It’s Official: Devin Townsend Officially Announces New Album Empath Officially


It’s Official: Devin Townsend Officially Announces New Album Empath OfficiallyAfter more than a year of teasing and who knows how many updates, Devin Townsend has now officially made it official: his next official album Empath will officially come out in March.

Rather than pursuing the traditional album release plan of putting out a single, followed by a music video, etc., Devin will be releasing a series of documentary videos chronicling the creation of the album with new songs sprinkled in along the way. Devin feels it’s important for fans to understand that process in order to fully grasp the music itself, and who are we to doubt him? Here’s his explanation on that approach:

“Hello everybody, this is Devin Townsend and I would like to formally announce that after almost a year and a half of working, I have finished Empath. Now this record has taken me down a lot of very interesting psychological and technical avenues and the process was documented from the very get-go by a series of documentary videos that I have done, that outline everything from the gestation of the idea to the actualisation of it, through all the existential ups and downs that went on. As such this record is different to any record that I have released thus far, and trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn’t, I think needs to be dealt with in a different way. Stay tuned for the making of Empath – the video series.”

Devin has also released a quick video explaining his plan, which you can watch below.

Empath will be Devin’s first album since freeing himself of the “Devin Townsend Project” tag a year ago. The album includes contributions by Frank Zappa alumni Mike Keneally as music director, Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desagnes, Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger, Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dhale and the Elektra Women’s Choir.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits