Enlarge Special guests included members of Anthrax, Stone Sour, H09909, John 5 and more.

Here’s Some Video of Corey Taylor’s Solo Show in L.A.


Corey Taylor played a solo show of sorts at the Roxy in L.A. this past Wednesday (February 20th) under the Corey Taylor and Friends moniker, and now we know his motivation behind this seemingly random one-off performance: good, old-fashioned fun! The show wasn’t orchestrated as a promotion for any of his books (as I’d conjectured) or for any reason other than getting on stage and having a blast playing cover songs with some friends (nothing by Slipknot or Stone Sour all night). With the Slipknot promo cycle about to crank into high gear, it’s probably one of the last opportunities Corey will have to pull off a show like this.

Taylor’s band consisted of guitarist Zach Throne, Ho9909 (Horror) drummer Brandon Pertzborn and bassist Jason Christopher (one of Corey’s longtime best friends, who has appeared live with him at other events as well). Special guests who joined the band throughout the night included Charlie Benante (Anthrax), comedian Dean Delray, guitarist Jonah Nimoy (fill-in guitarist for Stone Sour), Ho9909 singer Eaddy, pro-skater/Black Flag vocalist Mike Vallely, Anthrax’s Scott Ian, Ian’s wife (and Metaloaf’s daughter) Pearl Aday, and John 5.

You can watch fan-filmed video of Taylor and his band covering Bad Brains’ “Right Brigade” with H09909’s Eaddy below. Here’s the setlist:

  1. “Love Song” – The Damned
  2. “Don’t Change” – INXS
  3. “All This and More” – Dead Boys
  4. “Already Gone” – Eagles
  5. “Bone China” – Mother Love Bone
  6. “I Love The Nightlife” – The Cars
  7. “Waitin’ For the Bus/Jesus Just Left Chicago” – ZZ Top
  8. “Cream” – Prince and New Power Generation
  9. “Clampdown” – The Clash
  10. “Touch Too Much” – AC/DC W/ Charlie Benante and Dean Delray
  11. “Fairies Wear Boots” – Black Sabbath
  12. “Moonage Daydream” – David Bowie, with Jonah Nimoy (guitar)
  13. “Right Brigade” – Bad Brains Eaddy (Horror) Lead Vocals
  14. “Small Man Big Mouth” – Minor Threat Eaddy (Lead Vocals)
  15. “Who Was In My Room” – Butthole Surfers, with Jason Lead Vocals
  16. “Rise Above” – Black Flag with Mike Vallely (vocals)
  17. “Suspect Device” – Stiff Little Fingers
  18. “From Out of Nowhere” – Faith No More, with Scott Ian
  19. “Rich Girl” – Hall and Oates, with Scott Ian (guitar) and Pearl Aday (lead vocals)
  20. “Take Your Whisky Home” – Van Halen with John 5 (guitar)
  21. “C’mon and Love Me” – KISS with John 5
  22. “Lido Shuffle” – Boz Scaggs
  23. “Bitch” – Rolling Stones, with Dean Delray and John 5

[via Loudwire]

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits