Static-X Announce Official Release Date for Project Regeneration Album, Tease New Song

  • Axl Rosenberg

The reunited Static-X — featuring original members Tony Campos (bass), Koichi Fukuda (guitar), and Ken Jay (drums), along with creepy Wayne Static cosplayer ‘Xer0’ (likely Edsel Dope, vocals) — have announced a May 29, 2020 release date for their new album, Project Regeneration. The record was supposed to come out this year, but was delayed back in June, after the group unearthed even more previously-unreleased tracks featuring late frontman Wayne Static, who passed away in 2014. As a result, the band promises that Project Regeneration “will now feature lead vocals by Wayne Static on virtually every song.” Who will provide the vocals on the other songs? The press release doesn’t say if it will be Xer0 or a guest singer or what.

In any case, you can now check out a substantial chunk of what I assume will be the first single, “Hollow,” via the below video… which features a singing skeleton with a version of Wayne Static’s infamous hairstyle. I’d say that’s in poor taste, except the band is already employing a ringer so whatever I guess.

You can pre-order Project Regeneration here. The band is on tour with DevilDriver, Dope, Wednesday 13, and Raven Black throughout November and December; get tickets here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits