Evanescence Finally Announce Release Date for First Album in a Decade, Premiere New Single

  • Axl Rosenberg

When Evanescence announced their first album of new material in nearly a decade, The Bitter Truth, this past April (which at this point feels like it might as well of been a different decade), the plan was to release that album piecemeal over the course of 2020. At the time, singer Amy Lee explained:

“As far as business is concerned, this is considered a terrible time to release. But we believe that people need music now more than ever. We do, and we’re not going to wait to share it because who knows what tomorrow brings. Who knows if it even comes? This is who we really are and we’re calling out across the world for a connection.”

For whatever reason, though, this release plan only kinda-sorta happened, with just three songs having been released by August: “Wasted on You,” “The Game is Over,” and “Use My Voice.” Which is too bad, because all three of the single are terrific, are for a minute there, The Bitter Truth seemed poised to be the pop-metal album of 2020.

It will have to settle for being the pop-metal album of 2021, I guess: BMG will release The Bitter Truth in its entirety on March 26. Pre-orders are now being taken here.

In the meantime, the band has released a fourth single, “Yeah Right,” which you can check out below. Like its predecessors, it is extremely catchy and maybe just a little bit sad.

In this case, the sadness seems to stem from celebrity. After declaring herself to be “a rock star” and “a queen resurrected just as messed up as before,” Lee sings during the chorus:

Yeah right
That sounds nice
Everything we ever wanted and more
Someday we’ll get paid
More than it was worth to sell our souls
Yeah right

Wow. And I thought being a self-employed blogger with no benefits and four kids to feed sucked.

ANYWAY, there’s no official tracklist yet, but according to Apple Music at least, The Bitter Truth will have twelve tracks total. Here’s the order in which the four tracks will appear, in case you wanna listen to them in the “correct” order:

  1. Track 1
  2. Track 2
  3. “The Game is Over”
  4. “Yeah Right”
  5. Track 5
  6. “Wasted on You”
  7. Track 7
  8. “Use My Voice”
  9. Track 9
  10. Track 10
  11. Track 11
  12. Track 12

On top of all of this, the band has a livestream event, Evanescence: A Live Session From Rock Falcon Studio, tomorrow, Saturday, December 5, at 1pm PT / 4pm ET. The band says they’ll be playing the Bitter Truth singles and old hits. Tickets are here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits