Enlarge Photo by Terhi Ylimäinen

Alexi Laiho’s Bodom After Midnight to Release EP in April


We knew that Alexi Laiho had been in the studio with his new band, Bodom After Midnight, shortly before his untimely death late last year; now we know when we’ll get to hear the fruits of those labors.

The band has announced that they’ll release a fourteen-minute, three-song EP, Paint the Sky with Blood, on April 23 via Napalm Records. It will consist of two original songs — a title track and “Payback’s a Bitch” — along with a cover of Dissection’s 1995 song “Where Dead Angels Lie.”

The original plan, according to a press release, had been to follow it up with a proper full-length later in the year, but of course that sadly won’t happen now.

Surviving band members Daniel Freyberg (guitar, ex-Children of Bodom), Waltteri Väyrynen (drums, Paradise Lost), and Mitja Toivonen (bass) say of the release:

“Like ourselves, Alexi was beyond stoked about these songs and anxious to get these out so we are happy that we can fulfill his wish. Needless to say that we are  honored and proud to be a part of his very last creative work and unleash it the way he wanted it to. It’s time to let the beast out of the cage one more time as a celebration of Alexi’s music, legacy and the man himself.” 

You can view the cover art, by Travis Smith, below, and pre-order the EP here. We’ll let you know if they release a single beforehand, although, just speaking personally, I almost wish they don’t — three songs ain’t a lot. I’m game to be patient and hear this whole thing in one go.

Alexi Laiho’s Bodom After Midnight to Release EP in April
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits