Drumception 2020 Winners Announced!


The Drumception 2020 contest, in which we invited musicians to write their own guitar song over a killer drum track by legendary producer and Fit For an Autopsy mastermind Will Putney, has come and gone! And now we finally have the winners, chosen by Putney himself.

The premise was simple: download Will Putney’s drum track for your own use RIGHT HERE (still available, if you want it), made with Toontrack’s new Modern Metal EZX featuring drum tones recorded by Will. The only rule was that you couldn’t change the drum arrangement at all. 

Without further ado, here are the winners:

Second Runner Up – Dennis Franco

In the second runner-up slot, we have this killer submission from guitarist Dennis Franco! The tone, riffs, and playthrough are all on point here, and we feel he fit the vibe of the drum track perfectly. Congrats on your EZdrummer 2 + Toontrack mystery box, Dennis!

Runner Up – Angirasa Darbha

In the runner-up slot, we have Angirasa Darbha with their submission entitled “Panic Attack”! A very different submission from the rest, Angirasa chose a moodier and more atmospheric approach to the drum track that we love. Congrats on your EZdrummer 2 + one EZX of your choice + Toontrack mystery box, Angirasa!

Grand Prize – Battistello Andrea

Aaaaand in first place, we have the mighty Battistello Andrea with his heavy, melodic, and riff-tastic submission! As he states in the video’s description, the track is perfect for fans of bands like Novelists, ERRA, and Intervals, and we think he captured those melodic, punchy, and finger-twisty elements those bands are known for perfectly, all while making it his own. Congrats on your EZdrummer 2 + one EZX of your choice + EZbass + Toontrack mystery box, Battistello!

Well, that’s it! To everyone who submitted something for Drumception 2020, amazing job! We wish you could all get prizes, but in the meantime, keep doing what you’re doing, and thank you all for your time and effort. See you next year!

The likes of Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy), Robb Flynn (Machine Head), Aaron Marshall (Intervals) and Kevin Antreassian (ex-The Dillinger Escape Plan) also wrote their own guitar tracks over Will’s drums. Not eligible for the contest, but just for fun. Make sure you check those out as well.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits