The Absence Announce New Album, Debut First Single

  • Axl Rosenberg

OH SHIT! Perennial MetalSucks faves The Absence have announced a new album! It’s called Coffinized. That’s not a real word, but the first single, “Choirs of Sickness,” is so fuckin’ ill that we’re willing to look the other way on this one (take note, Kerry King).

In addition to their usual mix of robust riffage and heavy hooks, “Choirs of Sickness” has a particularly wicked guitar solo by Taylor Nordberg (Massacre). The pre-solo alone — which includes Spanish-style clean guitars and bassist Mike Leon (Soulfly, Cavalera Conspiracy) turning his bass into a plasma ball — will likely make you horny. It’s that good.

Says vocalist Jamie Stewart of the album:

“Haven’t we all been Coffinized since last year? Cooped-up, masked, distanced, trapped within a formless bubble, longing for a collective exhale. We lost loved ones; we lost time, work, sanity… in a way, we lost ourselves. In regard to most bands’ craft, we lost an integral portion of the thing that charges our collective batteries: SHOWS. We lost our abilities to release and to connect with all of our friends and family. We miss the spark; we miss the conversations; and most of all, we miss each and every one of you.

“This record is a void-bending combustion chamber of creativity. Every single song bears a torch of deprivation, darkness and triumph. In the end, we do actually win. One second, you feel creative and accomplished, validated and whole. The next, you seem empty and worthless, and feel the claustrophobia of being forced into an unwilling casket. Coffinized collects in detail the hysterical scratches and screams found on the inside of this casket’s lid – the kind of gashes made by four beings who are very much alive and giving their all to be heard from a forced burial.”


Blast “Choirs of Sickness” via the below music video. Coffinized will be out June 25 on M-Theory Audio, and can can be pre-ordered here. It’s the band’s first record as a quartet. The album was produced and engineered by drummer Jeramie Kling (Venom Inc.) and Nordberg and mixed by Kling. It was mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Overkill, Scar Symmetry) at Sweden’s Black Lounge Studios. Here’s the track list for ya:

  1. “Coffinized”
  2. “Future Terminal”
  3. “Choirs of Sickness”
  4. “Radiant Devestation”
  5. “Cathedral Dawn”
  6. “Black Providence”
  7. “Discordia”
  8. “Treacherous”
  9. ‘This Consuming Nocturne”
  10. “Aperture Expands”
  11. “Faith in Uncreation”
The Absence Announce New Album, Debut First Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits