Enlarge The seven-track release, Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando, will include three original songs and four punk covers.

New Mayhem EP Coming in July

  • Axl Rosenberg

Mayhem have announced that they’ll released a new seven-track EP on July 9 via Century Media. True to form, the band has given that EP the unnecessarily complicated titled of Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando. I’m not even sure how to abbreviate that. ABD/K?

ANYWAY, the EP has three cuts from the sessions for Daemon (2019) — “Black Glass Communion” and “Everlasting Dying Flame,” which were used as bonus tracks, and the previously unreleased “Voces Ab Alta” – alongside four covers of punk songs by the Ramones, Dead Kennedys, Discharge, and Rudimentary Peni.

I won’t lie: I’m far more curious to hear what it sounds like Mayhem cover the Ramones than I am to hear bonus tracks from Daemon. Maybe that’s just me, though.

Says vocalist Attila Csihar of the EP:

“I always had some punk influences. I guess it comes from my childhood when we were constantly looking for more extreme music. That’s how I discovered Dead Kennedys, GBH, The Exploited, Sex Pistols, U.K. Subs, Discharge, Rudimentary Peni and so on, in the early 80’s, alongside heavy metal. But then I discovered Venom, that was a game changer!”

Adds bassist Necrobutcher:

“We had some extra time in the studio recording the Daemon album two years ago, all band members were asked to punch in two cover tracks for some extra material. I chose songs by Deathstrike (‘The Truth’) and Death (‘Evil Dead’), which were both used as the bonus tracks on the album. My other contribution was to bring in two old members because of their obvious connection with punk: Maniac on the Dead Kennedys track and Billy (Messiah) on the Discharge track and some of the others.”

Below, check out the track list and the album art, which was created by by Italian designer Daniele Valeriani (Lucifer’s Child, Dark Funeral), who also did the Daemon graphics.

Pre-order ABD/K here.

Track list:

  1. “Voces Ab Alta”
  2. “Black Glass Communion”
  3. “Everlasting Dying Flame”
  4. “In Defense of Our Future” (Discharge Cover)
  5. “Hellnation” (Dead Kennedys Cover)
  6. “Only Death” (Rudimentary Peni Cover)
  7. “Commando” (Ramones Cover)
New Mayhem EP Coming in July
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits