Meshuggah Release Gorgeously Trippy Music Video for “The Abysmal Eye”


Last month, Swedish agreo-weirdos Meshuggah announced their new album Immutable, and soon after dropped the first single, “The Abysmal Eye.” Now, the band have released an official video for the track, which can be watched below.

Spoiler: the video for “The Abysmal Eye” is mostly made up of mysterious, trippy imagery that seems to suggest at a larger narrative to which we’re not yet privy (you know how these motherfuckers do). The footage shows a big bang of sorts happening in a citadel on an alien planet, where a series of robed figures wait and watch as a being is born out of a well of blackness. Meanwhile, a bunch of barefoot people dressed in running gear are sprinting through a desert towards a hole out of which will be born this cosmic figure…or will they fall into the hole? More than anything, the production value of the video is excellent, illustrating just how far Meshuggah have come since the days of drumming on your knees in the tour bus.

Check out “The Abysmal Eye” below. Meshuggah’s Immutable comes out April 1st via Atomic Fire, and is available for preorder.

Says guitarist Mårten Hagström:

“The title fits perfectly for where we are as a band. We’re older now. Most of us are in our fifties now, and we’ve settled into who we are. Even though we’ve been experimenting all along, I also think we’ve been the same since day one. The way we approach things and why we still make new albums, and why we still sound the way we do, it’s immutable. Humanity is immutable, too. We commit the same mistakes over and over. And we are immutable. We do what we do, and we don’t change.”

Check out the vide, followed by the full tracklisting and cover art for the album:

Meshuggah’s Immutable:

1. Broken Cog
2. The Abysmal Eye
3. Light The Shortening Fuse
4. Phantoms
5. Ligature Marks
6. God He Sees In Mirrors
7. They Move Below
8. Kaleidoscope
9. Black Cathedral
10. I Am That Thirst
11. The Faultless
12. Armies Of The Preposterous
13. Past Tense

Meshuggah Release Gorgeously Trippy Music Video for “The Abysmal Eye”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits