Meshuggah Drop Grinding New Single “The Abysmal Eye”


A couple of weeks ago, we were overjoyed to learn that Swedish groundbreakers Meshuggah would be releasing another studio album this year, titled Immutable. Now, the band have released the first single from that record, and fuuuuck, it’s a steamroller of a track.

We can imagine some Meshuggah fans arching their eyebrows at the sound of “The Abysmal Eye,” the band’s new song. The track isn’t the mind-bending descent into progressive madness that so many fans have come to consider the band’s most important aspect. But what “The Abysmal Eye” lacks in outright acrobatics, it more than makes up for in steamroller crush. This song healthily captures the spiritual experience of the mosh pit, the power that comes with having one’s everyday cares pressed out of them by the caterpillar treads of an oncoming tank.

Scare the crap out of your poor pets as you headbang around the room to “The Abysmal Eye” below:

Meshuggah’s Immutable comes out April 1st via Atomic Fire, and is available for presale starting today. To keep up with the band during the album cycle, sign up at the record’s official page.

“The title fits perfectly for where we are as a band,” guitarist Mårten Hagström says of the album’s name. “We’re older now. Most of us are in our fifties now, and we’ve settled into who we are. Even though we’ve been experimenting all along, I also think we’ve been the same since day one. The way we approach things and why we still make new albums, and why we still sound the way we do, it’s immutable. Humanity is immutable, too. We commit the same mistakes over and over. And we are immutable. We do what we do, and we don’t change.”

Check out the full tracklisting and cover art for the album below:

1. Broken Cog
2. The Abysmal Eye
3. Light The Shortening Fuse
4. Phantoms
5. Ligature Marks
6. God He Sees In Mirrors
7. They Move Below
8. Kaleidoscope
9. Black Cathedral
10. I Am That Thirst
11. The Faultless
12. Armies Of The Preposterous
13. Past Tense

Meshuggah Drop Grinding New Single “The Abysmal Eye”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits