Enlarge Mick Thomson via Wikipedia.

New Slipknot Album to Feature “The Heaviest Blues Song on Earth”

0

The new Slipknot album cycle just keeps on heating up. After DJ Sid Wilson announced that the new Slipknot album will feature samples from outer space, drummer Jay Weinberg said in an interview with Wisconsin radio station WZOR (Razor 94.7/104.7) that the new record is in the final stages of mixing — and that it will have “the heaviest blues song on earth.”

“I would say we kind of turned up the dials on experimentation. And there’s some new things happening that are really exciting, really interesting, stuff that maybe I wouldn’t have even expected us to pull out of our hat. We’ve got a song that’s like the heaviest blues song on earth, and stuff like that that’s super exciting to hear what the guys are doing. Then, once we’re working on the instrumental for a while, then we get to hear what Corey brings to the table and how that elevates things and turns things into newer and better and whatever… It’s very exciting to hear that kind of taking shape.

“But, man, there’s so much in it that is trademark Slipknot. We’re not gonna get away from that; we can’t escape that even if we wanted to. There are certain things that are just touchstones of what we are, and I think we’re really happy with that. And the fact that we can try to find new ways of presenting those elements — the loud, the fast, the abrasive, the discordant, all that is there for sure. And that’s really exciting. I think ‘The Chapeltown Rag’ is a great example of that. I think that’s a song that’s us kind of at peak energy and chaos.

“But what also really excites me is the way that we push things in experimental ways without questioning it. It’s just kind of, like, ‘This is what we wanna do. And people can take it or leave it. We don’t really care.’ Like on our last record, ‘Spiders’ was a great example of a song that is totally out of no playbook of Slipknot’s, but we make it Slipknot. I think now that we’re kind of in this final stage of mixing this album, I think I’m confident in saying that we just kind of turned up the dials on all that experimentation. And there’s some really, really new stuff that’s super exciting. And I hope it makes its way onto the stage soon. It’s gonna be exciting to share.”

I’ll just get this out now and thank Slipknot for letting Weinberg do this interview instead of Clown. Trying to unpack that much Clownese would cause an aneurism in anyone unfortunate enough to try.

Anyway, the gist of this is that Slipknot are getting closer to finishing their upcoming record, which is shaping up to be more experimental than their past work. For some bands experimenting just means a new guitar pedal or tuning; for Slipknot it could mean just about fucking anything, and for all we know, heavy blues will be the tame part.

Regardless, we’re here for it. And before you say we forgot what Corey Taylor thinks, he thinks the album will be out this summer.

You can watch the full interview check Slipknot’s tour dates below.

LEG 1: Slipknot w/ In This Moment & Wage War

Wed Mar 16 Fargo, ND FARGODOME [tickets]
Fri Mar 18 Omaha, NE CHI Health Center [tickets]
Sat Mar 19 Wichita, KS INTRUST Bank Arena [tickets]
Tue Mar 22 Memphis, TN FedExForum [tickets]
Wed Mar 23 Tulsa, OK BOK Center [tickets]
Fri Mar 25 North Little Rock, AR Simmons Bank Arena [tickets]
Sat Mar 26 Durant, OK Choctaw Grand Theater [tickets]
Tue Mar 29 Birmingham, AL Legacy Arena at the BJCC [tickets]
Wed Mar 30 N. Charleston, SC North Charleston Coliseum [tickets]
Fri Apr 01 Greensboro, NC Greensboro Coliseum Complex [tickets]
Sat Apr 02 Reading, PA Santander Arena [tickets]
Mon Apr 04 Cleveland, OH Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse [tickets]
Wed Apr 06 Green Bay, WI Resch Center [tickets]
Thu Apr 07 Peoria, IL Peoria Civic Center [tickets]
Sat Apr 09 Minneapolis, MN Target Center [tickets]
Mon Apr 11 Winnipeg, MB Canada Life Centre [tickets]
Tue Apr 12 Regina, SK Brandt Centre [tickets]
Thu Apr 14 Saskatoon, SK SaskTel Centre [tickets]
Fri Apr 15 Edmonton, AB Rogers Place [tickets]
Sun Apr 17 Vancouver, BC Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena [tickets]

LEG 2: Slipknot w/ Cypress Hill and Ho99o9

Wed May 18 University Park, PA Bryce Jordan Center [tickets]
Fri May 20 Brooklyn, NY Barclays Center [tickets]
Sat May 21 Providence, RI Dunkin’ Donuts Center [tickets]
Sun May 22 Manchester, NH SNHU Arena [tickets]
Tue May 24 Albany, NY MVP Arena [tickets]
Thu May 26 Montreal, QC Bell Centre [tickets]
Sat May 28 Québec, QC Videotron Centre [tickets]
Sun May 29 Ottawa, ON Canadian Tire Centre [tickets]
Mon May 30 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage [tickets]
Wed Jun 01 Cincinnati, OH Heritage Bank Center [tickets]
Thu Jun 02 Grand Rapids, MI Van Andel Arena [tickets]
Sat Jun 04 East Troy, WI Alpine Valley Music Theatre [tickets]
Sun Jun 05 Moline, IL TaxSlayer Center [tickets]
Tue Jun 07 Bonner Springs, KS Azura Amphitheater [tickets]
Thu Jun 09 Colorado Springs, CO The Broadmoor World Arena [tickets]
Sat Jun 11 Nampa, ID Ford Idaho Center [tickets]
Mon Jun 13 Seattle, WA Climate Pledge Arena [tickets]
Tue Jun 14 Ridgefield, WA RV Inn Style Resorts Amphitheater [tickets]
Fri Jun 17 Las Vegas, NV MGM Garden Arena [tickets]
Sat Jun 18 Chula Vista, CA North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre [tickets]

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits