Enlarge Photo Credit: @blackcardfilms

Fuming Mouth Announce Return with a New Album Last Day of Sun and Single “The Silence Beyond Life”


It’s been four years since the dudes in Fuming Mouth released their debut album The Grand Descent and in that time, things have been…pretty rough. Though the New England death metal outfit showed significant promise with that last release, life roundhouse kicked them in the face when vocalist and guitarist Mark Whelan was diagnosed with leukemia back in 2021.

Yet through chemotherapy and a bone marrow transplant, Whelan entered remission last year and as of now, is considered cancer free. So you know what that means — new music.

Set to release on November 3 via Nuclear Blast, the band’s sophomore album Last Day of Sun marks the band’s return after Whelan’s experience. And while the album’s concept was something he’d wanted to do anyway, Whelan said it’s since taken on a more personal meaning.

“What started as a fictional concept album became incredibly real. I was facing certain death, but as I kept writing the album it’s theme became clear. You could die tomorrow. Seize the day.”

In addition to the album announcement, the band released its first single “The Silence Beyond Life,” as well as its accompanying music video. Whelan said the track’s main influences pull from several Swedish death metal acts.

“‘The Silence Beyond Life’ is our most melodic and heaviest song to date drawing influence from God Macabre, Gorement, and other melodic Swedish death metal acts of the time like Therion and Cemetary. It’s a song about trying to live while longing to die and overcoming that.”

Last Day of Sun will be available on November 3 via Nuclear Blast, though you can preorder your copy today.

Last Day of Sun Track List:

1. Out of Time

2. Respect and Blasphemy

3. The Silence Beyond Life

4. The Sign of Pain

5. Leaving Euphoria

6. I’ll Find You

7. Disgusterlude

8. Kill the Disease

9. Last Day of Sun

10. R.I.P. (Rest in Piss)

11. Burial Practices

12. Postfigurement

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits