Myrkur Get “Mothlike” with Latest Single Streaming Now


Next month, atmospheric black metal act Myrkur will release Spine, their first new album in three years. And weeks after sharing the new album’s first single “Like Humans,” they’re back with another new track titled “Mothlike.”

Stating that the new album has a “host of potent connotations: growth, strength, defiance, a core of our being, and flexibility,” Myrkur say this new track in particular breathes life into the album all on its own. According to the music video’s director David Fitt, the visuals they’ve tied to the track needed to tap into some of the album’s core concepts.

“Early on in the process, I knew that translating ‘Mothlike’ into a video required the notion of transformation—like caterpillars do turning into moths. It led me to think about artists, how they are often met with defiance and rejection when they bring something new to the table, before getting recognized after perseverance and determination. The video is quite literally the illustration of this process, until the eye-opening reveal of a new truth expanding your vision.”

As previously reported, Myrkur leader Amalie Brunn said this new slate of songs represents the band taking a “new course for the enigmatic composer, multi-instrumentalist and vocalist.” Now as a mother, the artist is apparently using the new album to “[give] rise to a new range of emotional and sonic contours.”

Spine is due for release on October 20 via Relapse Records, but you can preorder or pre-save your copy today.

Spine Track Listing:

1 – Balfaerd
2 – Like Humans
3 – Mothlike
4 – My Blood Is Gold
5 – Spine
6 – Valkyriernes Sang
7 – Blazing Sky
8 – Devil in the detail
9 – Menneskebarn

Myrkur Has a New Album Coming Out, First Single “Like Humans’ Streaming Now
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits