Myrkur Has a New Album Coming Out, First Single “Like Humans’ Streaming Now


After roughly three years since the last studio release, Myrkur is back with the announcement of a new album titled Spine and its first single, “Like Humans.”

As Amalie Brunn’s folky, atmospheric black metal act, Myrkur is heading on a “new course for the enigmatic composer, multi-instrumentalist and vocalist” with this new release. Spurned on by the birth of her child and the emotions that come from that, the album is being described as being “free from genre constraints, and giving rise to a new range of emotional and sonic contours.”

Like most of Myrkur’s past releases, “Like Human” has an airy, almost ethereal quality. Brunn said the track was the result of feeling alone while dealing with a new chapter in her life.

“When I wrote ‘Like Humans’ I felt very disconnected and isolated from the human race. The lack of touch and being in the first few years of motherhood forced me to become human in a way I never thought I would. Going through all of these changes at once made me desperately want to feel a connection with the earth and humans. Writing and recording this album helped me heal and succeed with that dream.”

Spine is due for release on October 20 via Relapse Records, but you can preorder or pre-save your copy today.

Spine Track Listing:

1 – Balfaerd
2 – Like Humans
3 – Mothlike
4 – My Blood Is Gold
5 – Spine
6 – Valkyriernes Sang
7 – Blazing Sky
8 – Devil in the detail
9 – Menneskebarn

Myrkur Has a New Album Coming Out, First Single “Like Humans’ Streaming Now
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits