New Stuff


  • Axl Rosenberg


It’s been well over a year since Thomas Gabriel Fischer announced he was leaving Celtic Frost and starting a new band, Triptykon, and there’s still no friggin’ album. And I fucking hated the first song the band released, “Crucifixus,” which was basically several minutes of droning seemingly designed to punish anyone hoping Triptykon might make actual music.

But now Mr. Fischer has bounced back with not one but two, count ’em two, new Triptykon songs – “Abyss Within My Soul” and “A Thousand Lies.” And they totally redeem Tom G. Warrior for the awfulness that was “Crucifixus.”

These songs – which score right off the bat by being actual, y’know, songs – make good on Fischer’s promise that “Triptykon will sound as close to Celtic Frost as is humanly possible” and “will feature all the material I envisioned for the successor to [Celtic Frost’s] Monotheist.” These tracks strikes me as very Monotheistical, and that can only be a good thing. Unless you’re a dick. Or deaf. In which case I apologize for calling you a dick. And wonder what you’re doing reading this site.

But I digress! Still no word on a release date for Triptykon’s debut, but hopefully we’ll get it sometime in 2010. In the meantime, check out the new shit here.


Thanks to Jason Beter for the tip!

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits