Shit That Comes Out Today




It’s a big week for metal releases. Children of Bodom, Destruction, The Human Abstract, Turisas, and Rival Schools are this week’s heavy hitters, while new ones from Agnostic Front, Maruta, Jag Panzer, Swamp Thing and more give hardcore a surprisingly robust showing. After the jump, all the goods:

Agnostic Front – That’s Life 7” (Bridge Nine)
That’s Life is a limited edition release that features two tracks from Agnostic Front’s new album My Life, My Way. The EP will be released via Bridge Nine, and only 2,000 copies will be pressed. My Life, My Way will be released on March 22 via Nuclear Blast.

Children Of Bodom – Relentless Reckless Forever (Universal)
CoB’s new album is the first since 2008’s Blooddrunk (unless you count their hilarious 2009 covers album Skeletons In The Closet). The album is their first to be produced by Matt Hyde, who produced Slayer’s “God Hates Us All” and a handful of Monster Magnet albums. The limited edition version features a cover of Eddie Murphy’s “Party All The Time”… wow.

Condemned? – Condemned 2 Death (Nuclear Blast)
Condemned? (not to be confused with at least 4 other bands with the same name) have a history with Nuclear Blast: the label’s second-ever release was the crossover/thrash band’s first. The record was produced by Billy Anderson, who has worked with the Melvins, Sick Of It All, Neurosis and more.

Destruction – Day Of Reckoning (Nuclear Blast)
Destruction bring a new drummer into their ranks for their eleventh album and first since 2003’s Metal Discharge with Vaaver replacing their drummer of 10 years Marc Reign. Evile guitarist Ol Drake does some guest guitar work on the record.

Defeater – Empty Days & Sleepless Nights (Bridge Nine)
About the positive hardcore band Defeater’s second album, guitarist Jay Maas states: “I wanted to make a record that you could get into even if for some reason you don’t care about the meaning behind the lyrics, but at the same time I wanted to make sure the listener at least knows that there is more going on lyrically.” That quote is the perfect description of Defeater as a band.

Jag Panzer – The Scourge Of The Light (SPV)
Pioneering American heavy metal band Jag Panzer are still alive in 2011 to release their ninth album. The album is their first since 2004’s Casting The Stones, the last album to feature current Megadeth guitarist Chris Broderick. Broderick is replaced by the band’s former guitarist Christian Lasegue, who performed with the band on Chain of Command, recorded in 1987 but never officially released until 2004.

Maruta – Forward Into Regression (Willowtip)
You might remember Maruta from Relapse’s This Comp Kills Fascists I. Forward Into Regression is Maruta’s second album, and lucky for you you can stream the entire thing right here on MetalSucks. This band blasts my fucking shit! The record marks new drummer Daniel Morris’ and bassist Mauro Cordoba’s recording debut with the band.

Rival Schools – Pedals (Atlantic)
Originally formed in 1999, Rival Schools features members of many early hardcore and post-hardcore bands including Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Today and Quicksand. The band only released one album before calling it quits, but reformed in 2008 to issue a teaser for the “Pedals in the Shot After Shot” single released on Photo Finish Records last November. Technically this will be the group’s third album, but their untitled second album remains unreleased (legally, at least).

Swamp Thing – Swamp Thing 7” (6131)
Four songs. Fast as fuck. It’s not much different than 2008’s In Shame, which is exactly why I like it. Stream the whole record here on MetalSucks.

The Color Morale – The Devil In Your Eyes (Rise)
I’m going to just let Sergeant D handle this one, since he already did last July.

The Human Abstract – Digital Veil (E1)
The Human Abstract have gone through a lot of changes since 2008’s Midheaven. The band has parted ways with vocalist Nathan Ells, guitarist Andrew Tapley (who did play on this record) and keyboardist Sean Leonard. Founding THA guitarist A.J. Minette has returned to the fold, and Ells is succeeded by Travis Richter, former guitarist of From First To Last. Digital Veil is the band’s first release for E1 Music — having been sold to E1 by former label Hopeless after completion — and can be streamed in its entirety at AOL.

Turisas – Stand Up And Fight (Century Media)
In promotional interviews for this album, Turisas vocalist/mastermind Mathias Nygård talked about new influences for the Finnish folk band that should make things interesting, namely ‘80s stadium rock and the inclusion of real horn and string parts mixed in with the traditional Turisas sound. The record was mixed by Jens Bogren, who has worked with Opeth and Paradise Lost among many others.


All these releases and more are available for cheap at AmazonSH*T THAT COMES OUT TODAY – THE MARCH 8, 2011 EDITION!

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits