Everyone's Replaceable



I tried to pretend to care about all the recent Queensrÿche drama, but then I found a booger in my nose and picked it instead; I found that a much more satisfying use of my time than wondering whether or not Geoff Tate has a screw loose. (He does.)

That being said, I also kind of assumed that Tate’s new second version of  ‘Rÿche would feature a bunch of nobodies, because who the fuck wants to be Taterÿche? But it seems like I once again underestimated the power of money and the allure of the spotlight. So now Tate has announced the line-up for his new band, and, hey, guess what? Most of these guys are actually household names (in homes where metal is the music of choice, not, like, regular homes and stuff)!

Taterÿche is:

  • Geoff Tate (ex-Queensrÿche) – vocals, general dictator
  • Rudy Sarzo (ex-Quiet Riot, ex-Ozzy Osbourne, ex-Dio) – bass
  • Bobby Blotzer (Ratt) – drums
  • Glen Drover (ex-Megadeth) – guitars
  • Kelly Gray (ex-Queensrÿche) – guitars
  • Randy Gane – keyboards

So much like Axl Rose’s Guns N’ Roses 2.0, this is a talented group of guys who are well-known enough to garner a little extra attention for the band, and they’ve all had other careers as sidemen to famous pricks, so they have some experience taking orders. So it’s good to know that Queensrÿche’s guarantees legacy will be preserved.

There’s a statement from Tate regarding the new band here if you care; I tried to read it but got bored as soon as I read the line “It is said that adversity makes one stronger” in the second paragraph. My tolerance for trite clichés is already pretty low to begin with, and when those trite clichés are being spouted by by a guy who looks like Mr. Clean in a Steven Tyler Halloween costume, it’s booger-searchin’ time. But the short version apparently is that they’re gonna tour and probably make a new record, too. Someone call Best Buy and make an exclusive deal STAT!


[via Metal Insider]

Metal Sucks Greatest Hits