Eyehategod’s Mike IX Williams to Baby-Eating Senator Stanley Jason Rapert: “Your Moral Crusade Against Basic Human Rights Will Be Fought at Every Turn.”


Today in ‘Sentences I Never Expected to Type and You Never Expected to Read’: Eyehategod frontman Mike IX Williams has issued a response to Arkansas Senator Stanley Jason Rapert*.

Rapert, you may recall, threw a fit earlier this week after seeing an EHG show poster that depicts him as an eater of babies.

Rapert called the poster “disrespectful of all who value babies lives” [sic] and called for a boycott of Vino’s, the venue hosting the show.

Now Williams has released the following statement via social media in response:

“Open letter to Sen. [Stanley] Jason Rapert (R):

“Thank you for all the attention you’ve given the EyeHateGod show in Little Rock, Arkansas. Any image that was used of you is protected under the First Amendment, which supposedly protects us ‘Americans.’ Please stick to destroying peoples lives by trying to ban same sex marriage, opposing medical marijuana legalization, threatening minorities, and absolutely attacking women’s right to choose. Your moral crusade against basic human rights will be fought at every turn.

“Mike IX Williams
“Southern Nihilism Front”

Williams’ statement, it pretty much goes without saying, is righteous. Tickets for the Vino’s show don’t appear to be on sale, but I encourage area fans to watch this space. Let’s sell this motherfucker out.

Interestingly, Patheos posits that Rapert is actually just using the poster as a means to distract the general public from anti-choice legislation he recently proposed, as well as “new filings this week in the pending lawsuit by American Atheists against the representative for alleged misuse of his social media accounts in an official capacity.” You can read all about the legislation here and the American Atheists lawsuit here.

[via The PRP]

*Reputable sources tell me Rapert hates it when you use his full legal name. So of course we will be using his full legal name exclusively from now on.

Metal Sucks Greatest Hits