Enlarge Kauan's Anton Belov (credit: Alina Belova)

Exclusive Track Premiere: Kauan’s “Maanpako”


The title of Kauan‘s new single, “Maanpako,” is the Finnish word for “exile,” and all of the connotations of the word — shame and sadness, anger and outrage, loneliness and uncertainty — are all present in the textures of the song itself. Over the course of its nearly-six-minute length, it evolves seamlessly from sparse Max Richter-style aural depression to louder-but-no-less melancholic This Will Destroy You-esque post-metal to Supermodified-era Amon Tobin-ish jazzy electronica to black metal as desolate and frost-bitten as any you will ever hear. And no one of those pieces is superior to the others — they’re all top notch.

“Maanpako” will appear on the Russian outfit’s forthcoming eighth album, Ice Fleet, and we can assure you that the entire record is every bit as musically adventurous and mesmerizing as this song. If you’re not yet excited about this album, will…. time to get on board!

MetalSucks is thrilled to premiere “Maanpako,” which you can stream below.

Ice Fleet will be released on April 9 via Artoffact Records. The album is is based on the true story of an unidentified fleet discovered in 1930 in northernmost Russia, completely frozen under the permafrost with crew and passengers’ bodies grotesquely preserved.

To accompany the music and enhance the experience, the band has created a 40-page tabletop role-playing game, available now for pre-order along with the LP, CD, and other merch!

Exclusive Track Premiere: Kauan’s “Maanpako”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits