Monster Magnet Release Cover Of Dust’s “Learning to Die”


Monster Magnet have released a cover of Dust’s 1972 song, “Learning to Die.” You can check it out via the below lyric video.

“Learning to Die” is the second single from Monster Magnet’s forthcoming album, A Better Dystopia, “a delightfully (and psychotically) curated collection of ’60s and ’70s proto-metal and late-era psych obscurities covered by the heavy New Jersey legends themselves.” The first single was a take on Poo-Bah’s “Mr. Destroyer,” which you can check out here

Says frontman Dave Wyndorf of the new single:

“‘Learning To Die’ blew me away when I was 15 and it still blows me away.Man, do I LOVE to sing this song. Dust was one of the greats.”

A Better Dystopia comes out May 21 on Napalm; pre-order it here. The complete track list is as follows:

  1. “The Diamond Mine” (originally by Dave Diamond)
  2. “Born to Go” (originally by Hawkwind)
  3. “Epitaph for a Head” (originally by JD Blackfoot)
  4. “Solid Gold Hell” (originally by The Scientists)
  5. “Be Forewarned” (originally by The Macabre)
  6. “Mr. Destroyer” (originally by Poo-Bah)
  7. “When the Wolf Sits” (originally by Jerusalem)
  8. “Death” (originally by The Pretty Things)
  9. “Situation” (originally by Josephus)
  10. “It’s Trash” (originally by The Cavemen)
  11. “Motorcycle (Straight to Hell)” (originally by Table Scraps)
  12. “Learning to Die” (originally by Dust)
  13. “Welcome to the Void” (originally by Morgen) – Bonus Track
Monster Magnet Release Cover Of Dust’s “Learning to Die”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits