Enlarge Photo by SAWA

Dave Lombardo Says New Dead Cross Album is Nearly Finished


Dave Lombardo of Suicidal Tendencies, Mr. Bungle and Dead Cross (and ex-Slayer, of course) joined The MetalSucks Podcast this week with Scott Ian (Anthrax) and composer Fil Eisler, the trio who worked on the soundtrack for the new film Thunder Force.

After discussing the process of working on the music for the Melissa McCarthy-led Netflix movie, we couldn’t help but ask Dave for an update on new music from Dead Cross — which also features Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk) and Justin Pearson (The Locust) — and whose one and only album came out in 2017 with an EP that followed the year after. Here’s what he told us:

“The music is done. Music was wrapped up back in late December 2019, and obviously the pandemic broke and slowed everything down.

“I think Patton has a couple more tracks to wrap up and we should be done… hopefully late 2021 release? I know he had a lot of projects that he had to wrap up including Tomahawk and several others.

“So you know, it’s there. It’s waiting.”

We will of course keep you all updated. In the meantime, you can listen to “Skin of a Redneck,” which was released as a standalone single last year, below.

You can also listen to our full chat with Dave, Scott and Fil here or below.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits