Enlarge Photo by Travis Shinn

ONI Announce New Album, Drop First Single Featuring Iggy Pop and Randy Blythe


It’s been a couple of years since we heard from progressive groove metallers ONI, but now the band are back, and in fine form. They’ve just announced a new record due out later this year, and have dropped the first single, which features guest vocals from some rather impressive collaborators — namely Lamb of God vocalist Randy Blythe and punk legend Iggy Pop.

ONI’s new album will be called Loathing Light, and will be released on June 17th via Ironshore Records. The album will be co-produced by Lamb of God’s Mark Morton and producer Josh Wilbur. The record is available for preorder; you can find details at the bottom of this post. The first single, “Secrets,” can be checked out via a music video; it’s a galloping groove metal single, which is rad if unsurprising for the band.

According to mainman Jake Oni, having Randy on the obvious, but Iggy wasn’t an easy get:

“Iggy’s vocals are so iconic and instantly recognizable, his style is what we were after. But we figured, let’s see if we can get the man himself to check it out?

“He came down, we had some food and just chilled.And then he did his thing all over the song. He asked me for ideas about how to approach it, which was just crazy and cool. It all worked so well and came out sick.”

Blythe said the following of his contribution:

“It was awesome to work with Jake again, and of course the usual suspects, my compatriots Mark Morton and Josh Wilbur -always a good time. But to be on a track and film a video with one of my biggest influences as frontman, the OG godfather of punk and living legend Iggy Pop? Completely priceless.

Check out “Secrets” below, followed by the album details:

ONI’s Loathing Light:

  1. The Lie
  2. Against My Sins
  3. Secrets (feat. Randy Blythe & Iggy Pop)
  4. Awaken
  5. War Ender (feat. City Morgue)
  6. Heart To Stone
  7. Battery Tomb
  8. Sequence Static
  9. Gasoline
  10. Golden
ONI Announce New Album, Drop First Single Featuring Iggy Pop and Randy Blythe
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits