Enlarge Photo by Rachel Putman

Norma Jean Announce New Album, Drop Anthemic First Single


Last we heard from metalcore act Norma Jean was when their frontman apologized at length for posting a seemingly insensitive meme about the Black Lives Matter movement, which is admittedly not a great touchpoint to have. But now, the band have announced a new album and dropped a new single to boot, which is a far better last-we-heard moment for them.

Norma Jean’s new album will be titled Deathrattle Sing For Me, and drops August 12th on Solid State Records. The record is already available for preorder. The first single, “Call for the Blood,” can be heard below via its music video; the song is a big, swinging, anthemic track seemingly written for the live arena.

According to frontman Cory Brandan:

“Accept that everything is a draft. It helps to get it done. We banded together to make this record and to me, this song is the rallying cry. Composed by my brother, [co-producer] Matthew [Putman], this song was written around a single idea, altered heavily in post, and then mimicked by us. The studio and post-production elements acted as an instrument. The experimentation and the process behind this track was a major point of inspiration for many other things we ended up doing throughout Death Rattle Sing For Me. I feel like Matthew wrote this song with my voice in mind and I wanted to do something very unique over it. Dangerous rock ‘n’ roll! Blast it!”

Adds Putnam:

“‘CFTB’ was one of the first songs where I felt like we were establishing a personality for the album. Even though it was constructed in the studio from manipulated ideas we captured during a ‘riff vomiting’ session with Grayson, it still has a very raw, live energy. The samples were all chosen in a very deliberate way for how they colored the story behind the song (rebellious unity). There is nothing random about ‘CFTB’; every sound has meaning. This is one of my all-time favorite vocal performance from Cory, where he proves once again why he’s one of the best of his generation.”

Check out “Call for the Blood” below, then scroll down for the album’s tracklisting and cover art.

Norma Jean’s Deathrattle Sing For Me:

  1. 1994
  2. Call For The Blood
  3. Spearmint Revolt
  4. Memorial Hoard
  5. Aria Obscura
  6. Any%
  7. Parallella
  8. W W A V V E
  9. A Killing Word
  10. Penny Margs
  11. el-roi
  12. Sleep Explosion
  13. Heartache
Norma Jean Announce New Album, Drop Anthemic First Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits