Enlarge Photo by Jørn Steen

A New Darkthrone Album is Coming This October and We’re Pumped


In an somewhat surprising announcement just moments ago, one Norway’s black metal masters Darkthrone announced that they will be putting out a new album next month titled Astral Fortress.

Slated for an October 28th release, Astral Fortress features seven new songs from the prolific duo Nocturno and legendary cat-lover Fenriz. The new album will be the band’s first studio-length output since 2021’s Eternal Hails.

Ever the guy to stay super serious about everything all the time, Fenriz helped make the announcement via a YouTube short.

According to the band, this record has been in the works “for some years now,” with Fenriz estimating that this new slate of music can be traced back to 2016.

“As usual, Ted makes music by playing himself and riffs just come to me. I think since 2016’s Arctic Thunder, we have mostly been inspired by our own back catalogue. I can hear many of my riffs eventually sounding like a plethora of bands but this seldom seems to correlate with what others hear. As you’ll know by now I never talk about the lyrics or the inspiration behind them and I would never want any lyrics that I like of others to be explained to me but I will tell you this, it is darker than ever, it is seething with hell.”

Preorders for Astral Fortress will begin tomorrow starting at 9 a.m. U.K. time. Make a very careful note of that if you’re looking to snag one for yourself – 9 a.m. U.K. time. No excuses if you miss this one.

Darkthrone, Astral Fortress

  1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts [07:53]
  2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan [05:34]
  3. Stalagmite Necklace [05:22]
  4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea [10:10]
  5. Kevorkian Times [04:27]
  6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests [01:54]
  7. Eon 2 [04:40]
A New Darkthrone Album is Coming This October and We’re Pumped
  • Limited Edition Deluxe boxed edition: includes Astral Fortress on CD, an exclusive clear vinyl LP & cassette, letter from Fenriz and exclusive art prints all housed in a heavy duty lift off lid box
  • Limited edition curcao blue coloured LP – exclusively available through the Peaceville stores
  • CD
  • LP
  • Digital
  • Plus other limited edition coloured vinyl LPs are available in stores across the world – gold, white, yellow, green, purple and silver .. a collectors dream .. if you can find them!
A New Darkthrone Album is Coming This October and We’re Pumped
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits