August Burns Red to Release ‘Death Below’ in March, First Single Features Jesse Leach


Metalcore stalwarts August Burns Red will release album number 10 on March 24. Slated for release via Sharptone Records, Death Below features a pretty stacked lineup of guests including Jesse Leach (Killswitch Engage), Spencer Chamberlain (Underoath), JT Cavey (ERRA) and guitar wizard Jason Richardson.

They’ve also revealed the album’s first song, “Ancestry,” which features Leach contributing vocals.

Regarding the new album, lead guitarist J.B. Brubaker said:

“It’s no secret that the past few years have been extremely dark and challenging. Death Below is here as a result of that time in each our lives and the emotions that came with it. We were motivated by uncertainty, fear, outrage, and triumph. I feel this is the darkest, most personal album we’ve ever written, and I couldnt be more proud of what the five of us made together.”

And on “Ancestry,” he commented:

“‘Ancestry’ is a complex and technical ABR track held together by perhaps the most painful and personal lyrics Jake has ever written. I loved this song in every phase since its inception. From the instrumental rendition, to the lyrics and vocals being added, to finally bringing it all together with Jesse’s anthemic guest vocals, ‘Ancestry’ is a song we’ve been looking forward to sharing with the world for a long time.”

If you were hoping for the classic August Burns Red sound with the new single, you’re in luck. “Ancestry” is pure ABR, from the riffs and melodies to vocalist Jake Luhr’s vocal patterns.

“The Cleansing”
“Ancestry” (Feat. Jesse Leach)
“Tightrope” (Feat. Jason Richardson)
“Fool’s Gold in the Bear Trap”
“Dark Divide”
“The Abyss” (Feat. JT Cavey)
“Reckoning” (Feat. Spencer Chamberlain)

August Burns Red to Release ‘Death Below’ in March, First Single Features Jesse Leach

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits