Enlarge Photo credit: Maciej Pieloch

David Ellefson’s Dieth Set to Release To Hell And Back on June 2, Drop the Title Track as Their Second Single


It’s been roughly eight months since we last heard anything of real substance from ex-Megadeth bassist David Ellefson‘s death thrash band Dieth, but earlier today they not only announced a new album and its release date, but we now have the band’s second single to chew on.

Set for release on June 2, To Hell And Back will drop via Napalm Records. To mark the announcement, the band released the album’s title track. Also featuring ex-Entombed A.D.’s Guilherme Miranda on guitar/vocals and ex-Decapitated drummer Michał Łysejko, the song sounds pretty damn good. It’s definitely got that “big label death metal” vibe.

According to Miranda, the song embodies everything the band’s members have experienced leading up to the creation of Dieth.

“‘To Hell And Back’ is the song that best describes our individual and collective journeys as professional musicians. For an album to connect with the listener, it has to have deep meaning, and this wraps up this whole moment for us. We’ve been to Hell – and we’re Back!”

Back when the band was first announced, they dropped their first single “In The Hall Of The Hanging Serpents,” which was very much like this new track — thrashy death metal right from the moment you hit play.

As one of the multiple projects ex-Megadeth bassist David Ellefson got up to after he was kicked out of Megadeth, Dieth has been on the back burner while he was gallivanting around the U.S. playing old Megadeth tunes with Kings of Thrash. And if that project was a way to stay connected to the songs he helped write in Megadeth, apparently Dieth is being positioned as a way for all three members to harness “their own pain and conflict” seemingly experienced in their previous bands.

Ellefson said the impending release of To Hell And Back was a great way for three musicians from three different bands to get together and make some killer music.

“This album has been a terrific collaboration, building upon our past as we created a new sound together… we’re looking forward to unleashing the fury!”

To Hell And Back will be released on June 2 via Nuclear Blast Records, though you can preorder or presave the album today.

To Hell And Backtrack listing:
1. To Hell And Back
2. Don’t Get Mad … Get Even!
3. Wicked Disdain
4. Free Us All
5. Heavy Is The Crown
6. Walk With Me Forever
7. Dead Inside
8. The Mark Of Cain
9. In The Hall Of The Hanging Serpents
10. Severance

David Ellefson’s Dieth Set to Release To Hell And Back on June 2, Drop the Title Track as Their Second Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits