Enlarge Photos by Will Mecca

Fugitive’s Two New Tracks Carry on Power Trip’s Legacy of Ruling Ass


You can go ahead and dump that coffee or energy drink right down the drain. You won’t be needing those this morning, thanks to the release of two new tracks from crossover thrash outfit Fugitive. The two new songs, titled “Blast Furnace” and “Standoff” were released just this morning as a $2 single over on Bandcamp.

Produced by the band’s guitarist and former Power Trip member Blake Ibanez, the two tracks are their first new tracks since they released their debut EP Maniac out on 20 Buck Spin back in March. Listening to these tracks, all that can really be said about them is that they’re absolute fucking rippers that seek to tear the world a new ass with their ferocity. And while it’s certainly not Power Trip — especially without the late Riley Gale — the energy is certainly there.

Fugitive is comprised of Skourge’s Seth Gilmore on vocals, Ibanez and Impalers’ Victor Gutierrez on guitars, Stymie’s Andy Messer on bass, and Creeping Death’s Lincoln Mullins on drums.

Of particular note is the absolutely punishing breakdown about 2:33 into “Blast Furnace.” I heard that and immediately had to refrain from recruiting everyone in my apartment building to start a pit in the courtyard. That’s going to be absolutely insane when they play that live.

Which is a good thing, since they’re scheduled to take the stage at the Sound and Fury festival in Los Angeles on July 30 and a Metallica pre-show concert with Tribal Gaze in Dallas next month.

So yeah, be sure to check these two new bangers down below and consider sending a couple bucks their way. It’s always a good day when new, furious crossover thrash comes around.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits