Music Premieres

Exclusive: Pelican Announce New EP The Cliff + Track Premiere (with Vocals!)


Pelican - The CliffPelican do it to us every time: they’ve been firing off a non-stop barrage of can’t-miss albums, EPs and splits almost every year for the past decade, and none of them have been anything short of mesmerizing.

So why should 2014 be any different? On the heels of 2013’s full-length Forever Becoming comes The Cliff EP, featuring three vocal-driven (!) re-imaginings of “The Cliff” — a Forever Becoming highlight — plus one brand new song. OK, so technically it’s coming out in 2015 (February 24th, to be exact), but who’s counting?

Pelican have assembled an all-star team of remix artists to re-jigger “The Cliff” for the new EP: Justin Broadrick (Godflesh, Jesu), Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer of ISIS/Palms, and, for only the second time in their fourteen year career, vocals, courtesy of Allen Epley (Shiner, The Life and Times). Epley also owns the “first time in their fourteen year career” vocal credit: he sang on “Final Breath” from 2009’s What We All Come To Need.

Stream the track below. The Cliff EP comes out February 24th via Southern Lord.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits