Slipknot are Planning to Put Out 11 Unreleased Tracks from the All Hope Is Gone Sessions


The story goes something like this: during the writing and recording sessions of what would eventually become Slipknot’s 2008 album All Hope is Gone, Shawn “Clown” Crahan, Jim Root, Corey Taylor and Sid Wilson were frustrated with how things were going, so producer Dave Fortman put them in another room and let them do their thing while the rest of the band worked on the album. The group recorded 11 songs that purportedly took the band’s sound in a way more experimental and psychedelic direction.

What on earth would experimental, psychedelic Slipknot sound like? Fans may finally get to find out, as Loudwire got Clown to spill the beans that the band is planning to release those outtakes at some point in the next few years. Explaining that the timing is finally right because there’s a connection between those old alternate tracks and the directio We Are Not Your Kind would end up taking years later, he said:

“We have a whole other album that four of us wrote when we did All Hope Is Gone. We have 11 songs that we’re gonna release sometime in this album cycle. But it’s never been about just getting it out. It needs to be out when it’s right and by coming out during this album cycle people will even understand more what we’re doing on this album and what first led to it.”

So that should be pretty neat, yeah? I wonder to what extent the 11 unreleased tracks are alternate versions of the tracks on All Hope is Gone or whether they’re different songs entirely. Here’s the thing, though: these kinds of projects often get dangled in the press and never end up seeing the light of day… plus it’s Clown who’s talking here, and nothing that comes out of his mouth can ever be taken fully at face value. Still, it’s fun to think about, and we’ll see!

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits