Track Premiere: Som, “Awake // Sedate” (Holy Fawn Remix)


We’ve been raving about Som in this space for the past month, so hopefully you’ve gotten a taste of the so-called doom-pop outfit by now. But here’s a quick refresher for the cheap seats: Som are comprised of current and former members of Constants, Junius and Caspian, recently signed to The Ocean mastermind Robin Staps’ Pelagic Records and will release a new six-track EP, Awake, this week, consisting of two originals and four remixes.

Both original tracks having already been released as single, today MetalSucks is pleased to unveil Holy Fawn’s remix of one of those, “Awake // Sedate.” The remix takes the core of the original and flips it on its head, swapping a subtle electronic backbeat, atmospheric synth effects and washed out vocals for the hard-hitting drums and guitars and more present vocals in the original. In short, it makes the perfect companion piece.

Ryan Osterman of Holy Fawn explains of how the remix came about:

“We met when we got to tour with Som on the O’Brother tour and just instantly hit it off. We were enamored with their kindness and with how utterly massive these guys were able to sound live. When I got the opportunity to remix one of the new songs I instantly wanted to jump on it. I heard ‘Awake // Sedate’ and immediately had gears turning with how I might approach the song in a way that (hopefully) honored it while giving it some sort of HF gloom or what have you. I felt this kind of emotional paralysis / Cotard’s syndrome when Will was singing and just wanted to create something to capture that isolation.”

Have a listen below. Awake comes out on March 5 digitally via Blood Blast and March 12 physically via Pelagic; pre-order the EP and limited-edition merch here. You can listen to the previous single, “Awake // Sedate,” right there.

Tags: ,
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits