Enlarge Photo by Joe Louvau.

Greg Puciato (Ex-Dillinger Escape Plan) Announces New Solo Album, Drops First Single Featuring Code Orange’s Reba Meyers


Last we heard from former Dillinger Escape Plan frontman Greg Puciato was when he released a new song for DC Comics’ Dark Nights: Death Metal event and appeared on Alice In Chains guitarist Jerry Cantrell’s new solo effort. Now, Greg has announced a new solo album of his own, and has dropped the first single, which features Code Orange‘s Reba Meyers.

Greg Puciato’s new record will be titled Mirrorcell, and will see release on June 7th via Federal Prisoner. The album is already available for preorder, with the cover art and full tracklisting below.

The track and its video both give off a solid vibe of ’90s nostalgia, but not in the way that most bands do it. This feels like a throwback to the shimmering and aching alt-rock of that decade, a mixture of soaring emotion and ground-level dirt under the nails. It’s interesting to hear, given how easily the two performers at its center could’ve just ground out some distorted racket and called it a day, though racket fans will probably find it a little too languid for their tastes.

On working with Meyers, Puciato says:

“When she came to the studio we had like…zero vocals for that song. I had been a little unusually stuck with that one lyrically and as far as vocal phrasings and melodies. Reba and I had such an explosion of musical and personal chemistry right away, and we ended up writing and recording all of the vocals in about six hours. It was one of the purest collaborations I’ve ever done, in terms of feeling, just really natural and explosive. She really blew me away overall. The combined energy was instant. That song turned into something really special because of that energy.”

Check out the new track and full album details for Mirrorcell below:

  1. In This Hell You Find Yourself
  2. Reality Spiral
  3. No More Lives to Go
  4. Never Wanted That
  5. Lowered
  6. We
  7. I, Eclipse
  8. Rainbows Underground
  9. All Waves to Nothing
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits