Umbra Vitae (Converge, the Red Chord, Etc.) Debut New Song “Mantra of Madness”


Umbra Vitae, the new death metal supergroup featuring Jacob Bannon (Converge), Sean Martin (Twitching Tongues, ex-Hatebreed), Mike McKenzie (The Red Chord, Stomach Earth), Jon “Charn” Rice (ex-Job for a Cowboy, Scorpion Child, etc.), and Greg Weeks (The Red Chord), have released another cut off their upcoming debut album, Shadow of Life. This one is called “Mantra of Madness,” and in this blogger’s opinion, it’s even better than the album’s first single, “Return to Zero.” It’s got some crazy elephants marching riffage, some classic Red Chord-esque chunkiness, and just a dash of epic, melancholy-sounding melody. It’s killer stuff.

Check out “Mantra of Madness” via the below music video. Shadow of Life will be released digitally May 1 via Bannon’s own Deathwish Inc. You can pre-order it here. A physical release is expected later this year.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits