August Burns Red Debut “Icarus,” Set New EP for April Release

  • Axl Rosenberg

Been enjoying all those singles August Burns Red have released in the past few months? Great news: they’re all getting collected onto a new EP, The Guardian Sessions (well, almost all of them — the band’s cover of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas” isn’t included for whatever reason). It’s due for release on April 16 via Fearless Records.

The first single is a new song called “Icarus,” which includes clean vocals by bassist Dustin Davidson. You can check it out below.

Says Davidson of the new jam:

“’Icarus’ was a b-side from Guardians because it just didn’t fit the vibe of the album. I’m happy that our fans can hear it now because it’s riffy and super fun to play on guitar. It’s the first ABR song that I’ve sang on, and for fans of my side project, Best Case Scenario, I think you’ll hear the influence sprinkled throughout this one.”

Adds guitarist JB Brubaker:

The Guardians Sessions EP was put together on the foundation of two songs: ‘Standing in the Storm’ and ‘Icarus.’ Those songs were recorded in September of 2019, when we were finishing up our album Guardians. Both tracks got cut from the record, as we had too much material and they were the black sheep of the group.

When all touring was shut down in March of 2020, we began working on a couple of cover songs and re-imagined versions of some songs from Guardians. Those songs were recorded in the summer of 2020. We wanted to be productive with our downtime and work on a project that would be fun for both us and our fans.”

The Guardians Sessions track listing is below, with links to the songs that have already been released.

Pre-order The Guardians Sessions here.

  1. “Standing In The Storm”
  2. “Icarus”
  3. “Chop Suey!” (System Of A Down cover)
  4. “Westworld” (Ramin Djawadi cover)
  5. “Paramount (Reprise)”
  6. “Extinct By Instinct (Reprise)”

[via The PRP]

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits