Enlarge Photo by Jay Zucco

Cave In Announce New Album, Release Killer First Single


Who doesn’t love Cave In? The experimental groove metal act (that’s a really shitty, simple way to describe them, but it’s the best we can do right now) always twist genre boundaries into a beautiful knot without ever succumbing to the ponderousness that so many of their peers fall prey to. So we’re stoked to report that the band have announced a new full-length album, and have released their first single to boot — and surprise surprise, it fucking rules!

Cave In’s next album will be called Heavy Pendulum, and will drop May 20th via Relapse Records. You can find the cover art and tracklisting below, as well as the first single, “New Reality.” And not only does “New Reality” fucking slay — the guitar and vocal interplay are absolutely awesome — but the video is hilarious, showing off a band in the grips of technical ecstasy that comes with finding a bunch of obsolete tech stuff down in a basement.

Says guitarist/vocalist Stephen Brodsky:

“Cave In’s been around for over 25 years now, and the time has come for an album that scales all of our creative peaks. Talk about a wild and weird ride! And here we are with Heavy Pendulum — it certainly feels like a remarkable event, given the erratic trajectory of our band. ‘New Reality’ was always the lead-off track — that was pretty obvious during the writing process. New line-up, new label, new album… a new reality indeed, and it all adds up to a new lease on life for Cave In.”

Check out “New Reality” and the album info below. Heavy Pendulum drops May 20th, and is available for preorder.

Cave In’s Heavy Pendulum:

  1. New Reality
  2. Blood Spiller
  3. Floating Skulls
  4. Heavy Pendulum
  5. Pendulambient 
  6. Careless Offering
  7. Blinded By a Blaze
  8. Amaranthine
  9. Searchers of Hell
  10. Nightmare Eyes
  11. Days of Nothing
  12. Waiting For Love
  13. Reckoning
  14. Wavering Angel
Cave In Announce New Album, Release Killer First Single
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits