Enlarge Photo by Steve Dutton

Evile’s Newest Single “Monolith” is a Riff Monster


British metal outfit Evile continue to share the journey they created in their most recent release, The Unknown. What once was a shredding, super fast, take no prisoners thrash band has now become a band that’s willing to explore its sound a bit more with slower jams and even a ballad thrown in the mix. Earlier today, the band dropped the fourth single of their upcoming album and it shows off yet another facet of the band.

Instead of blistering fast licks and thrashy tendencies, “Monolith” is a slower, chunkier effort. It’s definitely a more plodding and heavier side of Evile, for sure. Speaking on the single, frontman OL Drake said the new track was built from the ground up to feel dangerous and inevitable.

“Our 4th single from The Unknown is the juggernaut called ‘Monolith.’ This song started after Adam sent over the main riff and we got to work on building on it. Our aim was for something menacing and dark, and this might be a contender for my favourite track on the album. The song itself is based on a recurring nightmare I used to have when I was young. I had it for months on end and it always featured this monolith presence with eyes at its base. I would be terrified to go to sleep in case I have it again. Enjoy the chug!”

The Unknown was released back on July 14 via Napalm Records, so be sure to pick your copy up wherever you get your music.

The Unknown track listing:
1. The Unknown
2. The Mask We Wear
3. Monolith
4. When Mortal Coils Shed
5. Sleepless Eyes
6. Out of Sight
7. At Mirror’s Speech
8. Reap What You Sow
9. Beginning of the End
10. Balance of Time

Evile’s Newest Single “Monolith” is a Riff Monster

The Unknown will be available in the following formats:
– 1CD Digipak
– 1-LP Gatefold Black Vinyl
– Digipak + Shirt
– 1-LP Gatefold Crystal Clear
– 1-LP Gatefold Solid Red (UK only)
– Digital Album

Evile’s Newest Single “Monolith” is a Riff Monster
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits