Ill Niño Members Reach Settlement Over Band Name

  • Axl Rosenberg

New Jersey nu-metal band Ill Niño have settled the lawsuit over ownership of the band’s name.

You may recall that the suit had the band split into two factions: one consisting of longtime members Dave Chavarri (drums), Lazaro Pina (bass), and Daniel Couto (percussion) along with with new singer Marcos Leal (Shattered Sun) and new guitarists Jess Dehoyos (Sons of Texas) and Sal Dominguez (ex-Upon a Burning Body), and one consisting of original singer Cristian Machado and guitarists Ahrue Luster and Diego Verduzco.  Machado, Luster, and Verduzco allege that Chavarri, while acting as the band’s manager, engaged in a lot of shady business dealings. Chavarri, of course, denied the accusations, and made some unsavory allegations of his won against Machado and Luster.

The band has now released the following statement:

“Ahrue, Christian, Dave, Diego, and Laz announce that they have reached a mutual, amicable, & binding agreement. Original members Dave Chavarri and Laz Pina are excited to continue with ILL NIÑO. Original member Cristian Machado, along with Diego Verduzco, and Ahrue Ilustre look forward to their next projects. No party has admitted fault and there has been no court judgment on the merits. The parties entered into a confidential settlement agreement.”

The Chavarri/Pina version of the band released a new song, “Sangre,” last year; you can listen to it here.

Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits