John Carpenter Makes Your Halloween Spookier With New Track “Weeping Ghost”

  • Axl Rosenberg

Here’s the best news we’ll get this Halloween season: the one and only John motherfucking Carpenter has announced that he’ll releases his first album of non-soundtrack music in nearly five years, Lost Themes III: Alive After Death, on February 5 via Sacred Bones. The album reunites with him his son, Cody Carpenter, and Daniel Davies, both of whom have working with the filmmaker/composer since 2015.

Here’s the track list:

  1. “Alive After Death”
  2. “Weeping Ghost”
  3. “Dripping Blood”
  4. “Dead Eyes”
  5. “Vampire’s Touch”
  6. “Cemetery”
  7. “Skeleton”
  8. “Turning the Bones”
  9. “The Dead Walk”
  10. “Carpathian Darkness”

In a press release, the elder Carpenter explains the trio’s creative process:

“We begin with a theme, a bass line, a pad, something that sounds good and will lead us to the next layer. We then just keep adding on from there. We understand each other’s strengths and weaknesses, how to communicate without words, and the process is easier now than it was in the beginning. We’ve matured.”

Not that there’s any reason to believe Carpenter wouldn’t release a great album, but in case you have any doubts, the first single from Lost Themes III, “Weeping Ghost,” should reassure you. The track is classic Carpenter; had he made a movie in 1977, in-between Assault on Precinct 13 and the original Halloween, this could have been the theme.

Listen to “Weeping Ghost” below, then pre-order Lost Themes III here.

The Carpenters and Davies are scoring Halloween Kills, the follow-up to Halloween 2018 (which they also scored). The movie is currently scheduled for release on October 15, 2021, although with the coronavirus currently wreaking havoc on studio release schedules, who knows whether or not that will be when it reaches theaters.

John Carpenter Makes Your Halloween Spookier With New Track “Weeping Ghost”
Show Comments
Metal Sucks Greatest Hits